Leave a comment

Restaurant Review – The Lucky Dill


Ex New Yorkers can be fanatical about food, particularly pizza,Chinese and deli. I can’t count the people who have waxed poetic to me about one of those things, each swearing it tastes just like NY. At first I was a believer. I would rush with high hopes and an empty stomach. Now I’ve stopped listening, I’m tired of the letdown.
I stumbled across an ad for The Lucky Dill one day and the pictures got me curious. It looked like the deli sandwiches I used to get back home. I started asking people if they had ever eaten there. Everyone who had said the food was phenomenal and that yes it was just like NY. I still resisted fearing another mighty let down. Then one day I had an unstoppable craving for pastrami on rye with mustard, a side of pickles and a cream soda. Until this point Too jays was my only option but it would be nice to have a backup. I decided to give the Dill a try.

First I’ll have share a little background info so you will understand my point. There are two schools of deli thought in NY. You either like the hand carved monster sandwiches of Katz Deli or the thin sliced mile high 2nd Ave Deli offerings. I’m a Katz lover. Lets say I want a turkey sandwich. I would be perfectly happy with cold cuts but would be ecstatic if I had real turkey carved from the bird.

So that’s why the Dill is good news bad news for me. The good news is it does taste like NY and if you are a 2nd Ave. fan you will be in heaven. The bad news is that I am not. The food is good and I would go back to try other things on the menu. They do have the best onion rings I have ever tasted but I cannot get my just like home fix there.

The service was fine and considering the crowd I don’t feel that we waited to long. The prices were reasonable and I was defiantly full when I left. The pickles were blah which is a real let down in a deli. All in all it’s not a bad place, just not the taste of home that I was looking for.

Lucky Dill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

