Leave a comment

The Melting Pot


$88 and nothing's cooked? I want my mother%#^i...

Image by permanently scatterbrained via Flickr

So, it’s a big night, maybe an anniversary or a birthday,and you want to do something different. I was told that The Melting Pot was the place to go, so off I went. Having only heard good things about this place I was excited and when I got invited to as a guest it was even better. Thank the lord I was a guest and not paying the bill because I would not have been a happy camper.

The Melting Pot is a fondue place. The idea behind it is nothing short of genius. Here’s the scam, they get a bunch of different cheeses, chocolates and broths, and put them in fondue pots, and then wait for it, let the guests cook their own food, brilliant! Oh, and charge them up the ying yang for the pleasure. What could be simpler?

It was my besties’ daughters 18th birthday and she wanted to take her somewhere special. So it was her and her two kids and me and little foodie. The restaurant itself is nice enough, low lighting, leather seating, nothing memorable but nothing shabby either.

We passed on salad as the Entrees came with veggies. We ordered 4 Land & Sea and 1 Chicken Breast entree with Court Bouillion and Mojo broths as our cooking styles. Out came the waitress with out fondue pots and then moments later she reappeared with our meats all sliced up. We had different colored forks to spear our meats and submerge into our bubbling little cauldrons. Big whoop. If I wanted to cook dinner I would have stayed home. The dessert was excellent because nobody can go wrong with fruit and hot chocolate.

At $21.oo per entree being the cheap pick on the menu, and $50.00 for dessert my bestie shelled out close to $400.00. Oh and did I mention that drinks averaged about $9.00? Happy Birthday indeed! Needless to say I have never nor do I ever intend to go back.

Let me be clear about this. I am not against paying big money for a fabulous meal. However, I would like that fabulous meal to be cooked for me. I think it is a disgrace to charge exorbitant prices and then have the guests overcook or undercook their own meals. There is a disclaimer at the bottom of the menu about what could happen to you if you eat undercooked meat. So, if you’ve got some money to blow go to The Melting Pot, but for half the price I’ll let you come to my house and cook your own dinner.

Happy Eating.

Melting Pot on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

